Real English is Really Listening.

Posted on June 30, 2008. Filed under: Blogroll, Lessons Based on our Videos | Tags: |

July 24, 2008 – Thanks to Elena Benito-Ruiz for this enthusiastic review of Real English!

I’ve completed 53 new lessons containing approx. 400 exercises during the past year. The content begins here.  I hope the new exercises “make more sense” than the old ones. They are simpler but richer, and generally easier. I have tried to show the meaning of the grammar and functions in the videos with additional images and sound files whenever possible, doing a lot of illustrating of meaning, as opposed to “testing”.

Elena reminds me it is 2008, and all of the truly useful organisational and communicative tools in a WEB 2.0 world will, indeed, be part of a new home for Real English video and lessons. That’s the new project now.

July 25, 2008 – YouTube user “jearmin”, an EFL teacher in Chile, contacted me via YouTube to show me a video of his classroom situation while using the lesson 3 video with his students. Thank you jearmin!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

5 Responses to “Real English is Really Listening.”

RSS Feed for Real English is listening. Comments RSS Feed

Mike,

What a great idea. Funny that you wrote about it, because I’m just considering doing something similar with my friend’s husband. He is intermediate level and he wanted to write more in English about current affairs, which is my University major. So, I’ve been thinking about telling him I’d tutor him. I’m sure I’d gain more from that than he would, for I’d be reading more about a topic that I’ve been passionate about for so long, but has been neglected…

I’d love to know how it goes. If you need any help or any skype chat. I’m around.

Hi Carla,

Thanks for letting me know about this. If we’re both teaching online at the same time, we can compare notes, exchange ideas, here or by email – and of course via skype as you mention.

I also feel like I might gain more from online teaching than the student, because like you, we would be dealing with content which is the “teacher’s passion”, and there would be a lot of sharing / teaching going on.

Keep me posted and I’ll do the same.

Mike

Hi Mike, good luck with your attempt!

I’m using Skype too as an online tutor for the courses offered by Valencian government. It’s hard, though. You can also try skypecast.

But let me tell you that IMHO that isn’t web 2.0. Tele-conferencing was here quite before web 2.0. Web 2.0 is about content-people-people-content, tagging, commenting, sharing, networking.

Thanks for your nice words!
Cheers.
Elena

I have 4 volunteer students who have written to me today, so this free offer is now suspended. I’ll be sure to post some of the results here after we get started.

I LIKE THIS SUBSCRIBE


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

